I suggest you ...

Don't destroy unsaved data when escape key is hit

When I am editing a task or a note and hit escape, the dialog disappears without prompting me, losing whatever data has been entered in it. This is bad form, as you can lose a lot of info if you hit that key accidentally. It should ask for a confirmation or save before exiting. Also, an "apply" button to save without closing might be good.

21 votes
Vote
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)
You have left! (?) (thinking…)
anonymous shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

4 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I work with TC all the day, and big changes are getting very slow by this feature now. Is there an option to turn it off? At least for mass changes...

  • Peter Fibæk commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    That is nice, BUT what if you did not want the original information changed, but pressed escape by accident. Then you would have changed the information by mistake and it got saved, as changes are "effective immediately". Having a dialogue pop up to save would be better, OR it should enter the information into a temporary memory space, where the entered data is stored, UNTILL you either press CANCEL (delete information from temporary memory) or APPLY/OK (moves information from temporary memory to data location).
    If you just press escape, the window should just close (or ask to save, if user defines this in settings), but the temporary memory space will still remember the data if you reopen the window. The original data will not be changed.

  • Justin Yeh commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    More than just a confirmation, I think there need to be an option to disable the close-when-escape-is-pressed feature. The feature is very problematic for many Chinese users like myself because the escape key is actually used by my input methods in place of the backspace key. That means whenever I make a typing mistake, I'll have to retype the whole thing. Nobody can use a software like this!

Feedback and Knowledge Base